Malinga returns as Sri Lanka’s ODI, T20 captain

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka on Friday brought back Lasith Malinga after a long rest as commander of its restricted over squads to lead the national group against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said the 35-year-old right-arm quick bowler was named captain of a 17-man squad for three ODIs and one T20 beginning on Jan 3.

Malinga drove Sri Lanka to the T20 World Cup in 2014. In any case, since captaining Sri Lanka against the UAE in February 2016, he has not driven the national group. He had lost his captaincy and also his place in the group in the wake of repeating wounds which constrained him to sit out numerous competitions.

Be that as it may, he captained an ODI coordinate against India in August a year ago.

The most recent squad for the shorter types of the diversion was confirmed by President Maithripala Sirisena without a games serve, SLC said.

Sri Lanka is viably without an administration since a questioned bureau selected by Sirisena was vanquished in a no-certainty movement a month ago.


Lasith Malinga (chief), Niroshan Dickwella (bad habit skipper), Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara.

READ  Winter Olympics: French ice artist's loathsomeness after X-appraised slip

Leave a Reply